Overview         Home  


 Will Birmingham join the Minor League Football System?


February 1989

    Ed Watkins announces that Birmingham is one of fourteen charter member franchises of the Minor League Football System. Representatives from all fourteen teams have just completed two days of meetings where they were discussing logistics and other plans for their inaugural season.

Watkins is one of the founders of the MLFS, which is scheduled to begin play August 1, 1989. Players will not be paid initially, but organizers believe the league's growth potential will allow salaries to be given within a few years.

Seventeen teams are planned, but to date only fourteen have been organized. In addition to Birmingham, the other franchises will be based in Seattle, West Palm Beach (FL), Hayward (CA), Fairfax (VA), Portland (OR), Wilmington (NC), Raleigh, Colorado Springs, Omaha, Tulsa, Scranton (PA), Lowell (MA) and one Canadian team which will be based in Ottawa. Teams will be split into West Coast, Midwest and East Coast divisions. Each franchise has paid a $10,000 league entry fee and $2,000 to attend the initial league meetings.



      The Minor League Football System managed to play two years before folding.   
   Email Gene Crowley

Last Update: August 23, 2008