Home Birmingham Miners logo Facebook

Maximum Basketball League
Association for Professional Basketball Research
Will Birmingham join the Maximum Basketball League?

August 19, 2021
     Maximum Basketball League logo
The Maximum Basketball League announces they will put a team in the Magic City in time for their 2021-22 season.

The team will be named the Birmingham Miners.

The Miners will be owned by Tony Johnson. No information was given on where they will play home games.

The league was founded in 2015 by Michael A. Wright as the Midwest Basketball League. The first season began in April 2016 with 11 teams.  When Wright stepped away from the league, it was rebranded the Maximum Basketball League for the 2020-21 season. The new management decided to drop the regional constriction of the old name was due to the league's expansion into the South.

The management team change wasn't the only shakeup after the 2019 season, as 13 teams decided to leave the league.

However, the newly renamed league played the 2020 season with 34 new teams.

Maximum Basketball League logo 2021-22                             
Maximum Basketball League                           
xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx
  Atlanta Wildcats logo   Birmingham Miners logo   Bronx Holy Flames logo   Brownstown Bears logo   Central Georgia Rattlers logo  
  Atlanta Wildcats   Birmingham Miners   Bronx Holy Flames   Brownstown Bears   Central Georgia Rattlers  
  Chicago Eagles logo   Chicago Hornets logo   Chicago Legends logo   DFW Just Hoops logo   Elkhart Mavericks logo  
  Chicago Eagles   Chicago Hornets   Chicago Legends   DFW Just Hoops   Elkhart Mavericks  
  Fort Wayne Bubba Ballers logo   Fort Worth Wolves logo   Foundation Bulldogs logo   Hills Have Eyes logo   Louisville Heat logo  
  Fort Wayne Bubba Ballers   Fort Worth Wolves   Foundation Bulldogs   Hills Have Eyes   Louisville Heat  
  Memphis Lions logo   Michigan Avengers logo   Midwest Storm logo   Mount Vernon Power logo   Music City Kings logo  
  Memphis Lions   Michigan Avengers   Midwest Storm   Mount Vernon Power   Music City Kings  
  New York Holy Storm logo   North Texas Prowlers logo   Texas Empire logo   Texas Fury logo   Texas Tsunami logo  
  New York Holy Storm   North Texas Prowlers   Texas Empire   Texas Fury   Texas Tsunami  
  Waco Terror logo   Wayne County Road Runners logo   West Tennessee Heat logo          
  Waco Terror   Wayne County Road Runners   West Tennessee Heat          

Maximum Basketball League
  Brownstown Bears   Bronx Holy Flames   DFW Just Hoops   Atlanta Wildcats
  Chicago Eagles   Mount Vernon Power     Fort Worth Wolves   Birmingham Miners
  Chicago Hornets   New York Holy Storm   Foundation Bulldogs   Central Georgia Rattlers  
  Chicago Legends     Hills Have Eyes   Louisville Heat
  Elkhart Mavericks     North Texas Prowlers     Memphis Lions
  Fort Wayne Bubba Ballers     Texas Empire   Music City Kings
  Michigan Avengers     Texas Fury   West Tennessee Heat
  Midwest Storm     Texas Tsunami  
  Wayne County Road Runners       Waco Terror  
Birmingham Miners logo
Alternate logo
Midwest Basketball League logo
Midwest Basketball League logo
Contact Gene Crowley
Last update: September 06, 2021