Media Guides
Birmingham Miners logo Facebook

Maximum Basketball League
Association for Professional Basketball Research
Team and League History

August 19, 2021
     Maximum Basketball League logo
The Maximum Basketball League announces they will put a team in the Magic City in time for their 2021-22 season.

The team will be named the Birmingham Miners.

The Miners will be owned by Tony Johnson.

No information was given on where they will play home games.

The MBL was founded in 2015 by Michael A. Wright as the Midwest Basketball League. The first season began in April 2016 with 11 teams.  When Wright stepped away from the league, it was rebranded the Maximum Basketball League for the 2020-21 season. The new management decided to drop the regional constriction of the old name was due to the league's expansion into the South.

The management team change wasn't the only shakeup after the 2019 season, as 13 teams decided to leave the league.

However, the newly renamed league played the 2020 season with 34 new teams.

October 2021

Maximum Basketball League logo 2021-22                             
Maximum Basketball League                           
xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx
  Atlanta Wildcats logo   Birmingham Miners logo   Bronx Holy Flames logo   Brooklyn Sentinels logo   Brownstown Bears logo  
  Atlanta Wildcats   Birmingham Miners   Bronx Holy Flames   Brooklyn Sentinels   Brownstown Bears  
  Central Georgia Rattlers logo   Chicago Hornets logo   Chicago Legends logo   Chicago Raptors logo   Crotona Hawks logo  
  Central Georgia Rattlers   Chicago Hornets   Chicago Legends
Champion badge
  Chicago Raptors   Crotona Hawks  
  DFW Just Hoops logo   Elkhart Mavericks logo   Fort Wayne Bubba Ballers logo   Fort Worth Wolves logo   Foundation Bulldogs logo  
  DFW Just Hoops   Elkhart Mavericks   Fort Wayne Bubba Ballers   Fort Worth Wolves   Foundation Bulldogs  
  Hills Have Eyes logo   Hub City Cyclones logo   Louisville Heat logo   Memphis Lions logo   Michigan Avengers logo  
  Hills Have Eyes   Hub City Cyclones   Louisville Heat   Memphis Lions   Michigan Avengers  
  Midwest Storm logo   Montrose Veterans logo   Mount Vernon Power logo   Music City Kings logo   New York City Black Eagles logo  
  Midwest Storm   Montrose Veterans   Mount Vernon Power   Music City Kings   New York City Black Eagles  
  North Texas Prowlers logo   Texas Empire logo   Texas Tsunami logo   Ultra Instinct logo   Waco Terror logo  
  North Texas Prowlers   Texas Empire   Texas Tsunami   Ultra Instinct   Waco Terror  
  Wayne County Road Runners logo   West Tennessee Heat logo              
  Wayne County Road Runners   West Tennessee Heat              

Maximum Basketball League
  Brownstown Bears   Bronx Holy Flames   DFW Just Hoops   Atlanta Wildcats
  Chicago Hornets   Brooklyn Sentinels   Fort Worth Wolves   Birmingham Miners
  Chicago Legends   Crotona Hawks   Foundation Bulldogs   Central Georgia Rattlers  
  Chicago Raptors   Montrose Veterans   Hills Have Eyes   Hub City Cyclones
  Elkhart Mavericks   Mount Vernon Power     North Texas Prowlers     Louisville Heat
  Fort Wayne Bubba Ballers   New York City Black Eagles     Texas Empire   Memphis Lions
  Michigan Avengers     Texas Tsunami   Music City Kings
  Midwest Storm     Ultra Instinct   West Tennessee Heat
  Wayne County Road Runners       Waco Terror  

Champions of the
  Midwest Basketball League/Maximum Basketball League  
Year Team   Year     Team  
  2016-17     Cedar Valley CourtKings 2019-20   Fort Wayne Vision
2017-18   Cedar Valley CourtKings (2nd)   2020-21   Michigan Avengers
2018-19   Twin Cities Elite   2021-22     Chicago Legends
           Years local team participated

Midwest Basketball League logo Previous Teams of the                          
Midwest BL/Maximum BL                          
xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx   xxx
  4100 Elite logo   Arlington Dream Chasers logo   Bay Area Titans logo   Cedar Valley CourtKings logo   Central Indiana Crusaders logo  
  4100 Elite
  Arlington Dream Chasers
  Bay Area Titans
  Cedar Valley CourtKings
2016 to 2019
   Central Indiana Crusaders
2016 to 2017
  Chicago Fury logo   Chicago Knights logo   Cincinnati Crush logo   Dallas Kings logo   DFW Kingsmen logo  
  Chicago Fury
2016 to 2019
  Chicago Knights
2018 to 2019
  Cincinnati Crush
  Dallas Kings
2019 to 2020-21
  DFW Kingsmen
  Dayton Air Strikers logo   Denton Destroyers logo   Eagan Bulldogs logo   Fort Worth Foxes logo   Ft. Wayne Vision logo  
  Dayton Air Strikers
2016 to 2018
  Denton Destroyers
  Eagan Bulldogs
  Fort Worth Foxes
  Ft. Wayne Vision
2017 to 2019
  Indiana Dream logo   Indiana Fury logo   Indy Show logo   Illinois Bulldogs logo   Kentucky Blues logo  
  Indiana Dream
2016 to 2019
  Indiana Fury
2016 to 2019
  Indy Show
  Illinois Bulldogs
  Kentucky Blues
  Kentucky Flash logo   Lincoln Lions logo   Metroplex Lightning logo   Milwaukee Storm logo   Minnesota Broncos logo  
  Kentucky Flash
2016 to 2018
  Lincoln Lions
2016 to 2018
  Metroplex Lightning
  Milwaukee Storm
2016 to 2017
  Minnesota Broncos
2016 to 2019
  Minnesota Lakers logo   Minnesota Pitbulls logo   Minnesota Rangers logo   Naptown Pros logo   Nationwide Hoops logo  
  Minnesota Lakers
2018 to 2019
  Minnesota Pitbulls
2016 to 2017
  Minnesota Rangers
2016 to 2017
  Naptown Pros
  Nationwide Hoops
  North Minneapolis Eagles logo   North Texas Saints logo   Quest Life Warriors logo   Rochester Roadrunners logo   Springfield Panthers logo  
  North Minneapolis Eagles
  North Texas Saints
  Quest Life Warriors
  Rochester Roadrunners
2018 to 2019
  Springfield Panthers
2016 to 2019
  Twin Cities Elite logo   Texas Fury logo   Texas Revelation logo          
  TC Elite
  Texas Fury
  Texas Revelation
2019 to 2020-21

Midwest Basketball League logo
Midwest Basketball League logo
Contact Gene Crowley
Last update: April 11, 2022