Media Guides
Alabama 59ers logo Facebook

Pro Basketball Association
Association for Professional Basketball Research

Team and League History

January 24, 2021
The Pro Basketball Association announces that Birmingham will have a team in the league's inaugural season, set to tip-off on May 2, 2021.

     Pro Basketball Association logo 
The local team will be named the Alabama 59ers.

The team will be owned by Kimberly Meadows-Clark, who also owns the American Basketball Association's Magic City Surge. 59ers home games will be played at Fairfield High Preparatory School.

The PBA was announced on December 10, 2020 as a new minor league circuit that intends to have teams located around the nation.

The season will run around 21 weeks and playoffs will start in August. Every team in the league gets at least one playoff game.

The league wants their season to run right up to the time that the NBA's summer leagues begin.

Their hope is to play when they could catch professional players coming home from overseas play. One way they hope to do this is though an incentive based salary structure. For every game played throughout the season, the winning team gets half of the door (attendance monies) generated from that game. Teams do not have a salary cap and have the ability to sign players for a set amount to be paid by the game or by the month Ė to be negotiated by and between the club and its players. However, many teams might simply share all monies won from their games directly with their players.

The Pro Basketball Association claims to be set up as a true association, rather than just a league. Collaboration between the PBA, team ownership, players, and coaches will share revenues collected.

April 28, 2021
The Pro Basketball Association announces plans for their 2022 season.

Each team will play a 16-game regular season schedule.

Also, the league plans to operate a women's league that will have the same standards, policies, and procedures as the menís league.

May 2021
Pro Basketball Association logo 2021                          
Pro Basketball Association                           
xx   xx   xx   xx   xx   xx
  Akron Aviators logo   Alabama 59ers logo   Beltway Express logo   Brenham Purple Reign logo   Buckhannon Bears logo  
  Akron Aviators   Alabama 59ers   Beltway Express   Brenham Purple Reign   Buckhannon Bears  
  Buffalo Blaze logo   Chicago Angels logo   Chicago Black Angels logo   Chicago Fury logo   Chicago White Angels logo  
  Buffalo Blaze   Chicago Angels   Chicago Black Angels   Chicago Fury   Chicago White Angels  
  Cincinnati Crush logo   Columbus Blackhawks logo   Delaware Snipers logo   Detroit Panthers logo   DFW Just Hoops logo  
  Cincinnati Crush   Columbus Blackhawks   Delaware Snipers   Detroit Panthers   DFW Just Hoops  
  DFW Powerhouse logo   Elkhart Mavericks logo   Fort Worth F.I.R.M. logo   Fort Worth Prymetyme logo   Georgia Kingz logo  
  DFW Powerhouse   Elkhart Mavericks   Fort Worth F.I.R.M.   Fort Worth Prymetyme   Georgia Kingz  
  Goldsboro Bulldogs logo   Hoop Goon logo   Lancaster Thunder logo   Lilac City Legends logo   Lionheat Kings logo  
  Goldsboro Bulldogs   Hoop Goon   Lancaster Thunder   Lilac City Legends   Lionheart Kings  
  Louisiana Kingdom Riders logo   Maywood Warriors logo    Metroplex Lightning logo   Mid Coast Sternmen logo   Midwest Storm logo  
  Louisiana Kingdom Riders   Maywood Warriors   Metroplex Lightning   Mid Coast Sternmen   Midwest Storm  
  Missouri Program Select logo   Montgomery Knights logo   Music City Jazz logo   Naptown Pros logo   Nevada Pharaohs logo  
  Missouri Program Select   Montgomery Knights   Music City Jazz   Naptown Pros   Nevada Pharaohs  
  New Mexico Bullsnakes logo   New York Generals logo   North Texas Prowlers logo   North Texas Saints logo   Oklahoma Kings logo  
  New Mexico Bullsnakes   New York Generals   North Texas Prowlers   North Texas Saints   Oklahoma Kings  
  Owensboro Cobras logo   Pennslyvania Peacemakers logo   Philadelphia Pioneers logo   Phoenix Valley Outlaws logo   PNW VETS logo  
  Owensboro Cobras   Pennsylvania Peacemakers   Philadelphia Pioneers   Phoenix Valley Outlaws   PNW VETS  
  Quad City Flames logo   Rochester Razorsharks logo   Seven City Knights logo   Shreveport-Bossier Knights logo   Silver State Mustangs logo  
  Quad City Flames   Rochester Razorsharks   Seven City Knights   Shreveport-Bossier Knights   Silver State Mustangs  
  Southwest Desertcats logo   Temple Hawks logo   Texas Hyenas logo   Texas Takeover logo   Texas Tribe logo  
  Southwest Desertcats   Temple Hawks   Texas Hyenas   Texas Takeover   Texas Tribe  
  Texas Tsunami logo   Thurston County Capitals logo   Tri-State 66ers logo   Ultra Instinct logo   Vancouver Dragons logo  
  Texas Tsunami   Thurston County Capitals   Tri-State 66ers   Ultra Instinct   Vancouver Dragons  
  Vegas Huskies logo   West Tennessee Heat logo   Windy City Mustangs logo          
  Vegas Huskies   West Tennessee Heat   Windy City Mustangs          

Pro Basketball Association
  Lilac City Legends   Nevada Pharaohs   Brenham Purple Reign   DFW Just Hoops
  PNW VETS   New Mexico Bullsnakes     Louisiana Kingdom Riders   DFW Powerhouse
  Quad City Flames   Phoenix Valley Outlaws   Missouri Program Select   Fort Worth F.I.R.M.
  Thurston County Capitals     Seven City Knights   Oklahoma Kings   Fort Worth Prymetyme  
  Vancouver Dragons   Silver State Mustangs   Shreveport-Bossier Knights   Hoop Goon
    Southwest Desertcats   Texas Tribe   Metroplex Lightning
    Vegas Huskies   Tri-State 66ers   North Texas Prowlers
        North Texas Saints
        Temple Hawks
        Texas Hyenas
        Texas Takeover
        Texas Tsunami
        Ultra Instinct
  Chicago Angels   Beltway Express   Akron Aviators   Alabama 59ers
  Chicago Black Angels   Buckhannon Bears   Buffalo Blaze   Columbus Blackhawks
  Chicago Fury   Delaware Snipers   Lionheart Kings   Georgia Kingz
  Chicago White Angels   Goldsboro Bulldogs   Mid Coast Sternmen   Montgomery Knights
  Cincinnati Crush   Philadelphia Pioneers   New York Generals   Music City Jazz
  Detroit Panthers     Pennsylvania Peacemakers     Owensboro Cobras
  Elkhart Mavericks     Rochester Razorsharks   West Tennessee Heat
  Lancaster Thunder      
  Maywood Warriors      
  Midwest Storm      
  Naptown Pros      
  Windy City Mustangs      

May 30, 2021
After playing their opening season game, the 59ers have now missed two scheduled games. The unplayed games do not appear to be forfeited, so the team's status in the league is unclear.
Contact Gene Crowley
Last update: June 01, 2021